Thread: Guestimating...

Default Guestimating...

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to the wedding planning scene having only booked our wedding and set a date a few weeks ago. Recently I sat with my mum and started talking budgets! The problem were having is we have no idea where to begin, as we're not actually very sure how much things cost if that makes sense?

For example, whats the "going rate"/average cost of a photographer? What should we expect for our money?

The same with a florist, would 450 floristry costs for my bouquet, 3 x bridesmaids flowers, 2 x 'thank you' bouquets and a couple of button holes?

I'd feel a bit cheeky quite bluntly asking my friend who got married a few years ago how much she paid for different elements as she's quite hush-hush when money is concerned. I'm completely clueless!

Is anyone able to shed some light?

Thanks in advance x

Hi and welcome! You'll get loads of good advice on this forum so ask away! Have a look on suppliers websites and that should help give you a better idea and try SWD for budget tips too! Think it's really difficult to say as it is a very individual thing and what can seem cheap to some people is really expensive from another point of view. I would suggest go with your instinct and ask yourself if you think x amount is too much to spend based on how important it is to you! I didn't really set a budget as such, I looked around and decided on what I wanted to pay for things. We are not having wedding cars for example as I felt I just couldn't justify the expense on something I wasn't fussy about for a ten minute journey to the reception! Hope this is of some use and nice to see another Fife bride, you should search for the Fife bride thread and add your details lol! X

Thank you FH4AM! Where will I find the Fife Bride thread? X

I see you found it lol! X

nearlymrsT